smitten kitchen’s broccoli ribs and dilly potato salad

I’m not sure which side of the fence I want to be on.

There are days when I marvel at the abilities we now have to create sustainable, plant-based food sources that so accurately mimic the flavor, texture, and nutritional profile of animal products. Companies like Beyond Meat, Gardein, Hampton Creek, and now, amazingly, Follow Your Heart with a vegan scrambled egg, are doing some innovative work with new and unique biological compounds that make it easy and delicious to adopt a plant-based diet. Then there are days when I make a batch of roasted broccoli that has been rubbed down with a BBQ rub, smoky and sweet, and serve it alongside some simple potato salad, and am thoroughly satisfied. It’s not that I am in any way against lab-based products, but that I can be so happy with something so simple as roasted broccoli, with a little char on the florets.

I’ll let the picture and Deb Perelman do the talking on this one.

The cornbread muffins, too, are a recipe from Isa Chandra, which just leaves the potato salad for me.

The big dill
The big dill

This potato salad is a dish that answers the inevitable quandary one finds oneself in when one purchases fresh dill, which is, “There is so much dill left, what can I do with dill?” Sure, you can freeze it in olive oil, but that means you are going to have to deal with frozen dill. Much better to take out the whole bunch in one mustardy, starchy go.

dilly potato salad
makes sides for about 6 people

4 medium potatoes, scrubbed and cubed (I used white because I had them, I suspect a red-skinned variety would taste better)
1 medium onion, chopped
1 12oz block silken extra firm tofu, diced (the kind from a tetra pak)
1 bunch dill, chopped, about 3/4 c
1/4 c prepared mustard (I used salad, again because I had it. Any will do, use your favorite)
1/4 c olive oil
1/4 c apple cider vinegar
2 tbl liquid sweetener (agave, maple, or honey)
1 tbl white miso paste
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp kala namak (black salt)
fresh ground black pepper, to taste
a few dashes mustard oil (optional)

  • Boil the cubed potatoes in enough salty water to cover over medium heat for about 10 minutes, or until easily pierced with a fork. Drain and let sit in a colander for a few minutes to steam themselves a dry a bit.
  • Mix all ingredients from “mustard” and down in a large bowl.
  • Toss the onion, tofu, and dill in the dressing to coat.
  • Carefully toss the potatoes in the mixture until combined. Taste for salt and pepper.
  • Serve hot, lukewarm, or chilled.

Leave a comment